Query Rejection Letters of My Novel

I wrote a semiautobiographical novel about a difficult period in my life and my daily struggles.  It’s classified as contemporary fiction/realistic fiction/women’s fiction.  After working on it for four years, I completed the manuscript’s final draft late in 2015, and I began querying literary agents for representation.

I did receive several form rejection letters and a few more personalized ones.  One agent said that there wasn’t much of a market for my story, but others might feel differently.  Another wrote back declining representation after careful consideration over a lengthy amount of time.  She explained that she wasn’t drawn into the material as much as she had hoped.  This query rejection implied that my story had promise if I could improve upon it.

Now I’m back to rewriting this manuscript for the eighth time.  With each new draft I create a copy of the file before making changes.  This way I have the last version saved without the new edits.  It helps if I need to restore something I deleted.

For the eighth and final draft of my novel, I’ve cut out much of the original first two chapters.  I found the writing sluggish.  The beginning could very easily lose a reader’s interest with such a slow-moving pace.  I hope the changes I’ve made to hold a reader’s attention will encourage him or her to continue reading the book and finish it.

I’m still writing for one reader as all the famous writers suggest.  I’m writing for myself.  I’m writing what I would want to read.

I would like to have the final polished work ready by the end of the summer (at the latest).  Then I’ll start querying literary agents again.  Wish me more than luck.

2 thoughts on “Query Rejection Letters of My Novel

  1. With each new draft I create a copy of the file before making changes. This way I have the last version saved without the new edits. It helps if I need to restore something I deleted. – me too.

    Good luck on the road ahead 🙂

Comments are closed.