A Journal of Sorts

IMG_3938

I’ve had this website for almost a year, but I neglected to begin a blog until today.  Perhaps this was my way of dealing with first post jitters by delaying it for so long.

In this blog, I’ll post regarding my artistic personal life.  These posts will involve any general musings I have about reading and/or writing, poems and quotes I love, sometimes a book review, and some artistic hobbies I enjoy that I’d like to share such as photography.

You can consider this a journal of sorts.

I haven’t yet decided on whether or not I’d like to compartmentalize myself into tidy little social media profiles showcasing microthoughts, photography and artwork, and social networking circles, so I’ll store everything relevant to my artistic life in this journal and on this website for the time being.

Ever since I was a girl, after reading To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee, I wanted to become a writer.  Over the years, I’ve had other favorite books such as Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury, The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas, She’s Come Undone and I Know This Much Is True by Wally Lamb, No Country For Old Men by Cormac McCarthy, the Daughter of Smoke & Bone trilogy by Laini Taylor, and many others.

Years later, I’m pursuing a professional writing career.  I write poetry and have had several poems published in online and print literary magazines.  I also write short stories and novels, most of which could be classified as contemporary fiction and women’s fiction.

I love various art forms and the creative life.  I indulge in books, music, television, and films–any medium that makes use of the written word.

